Going from manual to automatic

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Going from manual to automatic

Sometimes I still stomp my left foot down on the break pedal thinking it's the clutch.

Hello Bigger, et al. I've enjoyed some success from applying manual traction (manual stretching). It was hard won and a very long story I won't bore you with unless somebody asks.

The reason I decided to explore a mechanical (auto) solution is that I was having repetitive strain issues in the joints of my index and middle fingers, sore hand muscles, and failing arm muscles during my manual sessions. Plus the gains stopped by about Day 21 (twice - once in 2018 and once in 2019). I knew I was going to have to go for a long haul, but there was no way my hands were going to hold out.

So I'm just beginning with the BIB Starter.

I had developed considerable skill and comfort with manuals, despite the issues I ultimately ran into. I also seemed to learn a lot about what the process of gaining was going to require. So at the moment I'm learning to work with the new sensations produced by the mechanical grip of the BIB and playing with adjustments, and reading deeply into the archives here because I don't want to be a hungry little birdy. I like to resolve my own problems if I can.

I'm hanging a 4 lb dumbbell as I type this and enjoying the hands free experience.

If there's an issue it's that I want to get up to familiar speed sooner rather than later. Patience is required. I guess I was applying something like 20 lbs to acheive fatigue with my former manual practice. It's an estimate, but I think a good one based on what I've tried with the BIB so far (hung 12 lbs for a few seconds and easily can pull more than that with manuals). So I'm having to be patient with the new process and not try to force my way up or get frustrated with the new adjustments.