Hanging Weight/Time/Attachment Specifics

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hanging Weight/Time/Attachment Specifics

Hey, I’m pretty new to hanging (been doing it about 4 months, 5-10 hours per week) and I could use some clarifications to better my hanging game. There’s a few topics I’d like to understand better so I’ll break it down in sections:

1. I understood I should start at about 5-7.5 lbs and add 0.5-1 lbs per week to progress, hanging SD and BTC. I worked my way up to a max of 15 lbs but am weary of moving further up yet. In reading about how people here and elsewhere talk about weight, things seem a bit more complicated than initially. I was under the initial impression that when people say they’re can do, say 20-30 lbs for 2-3 hours per day (or 20 lbs for 6 or however many sets), that meant they would do that weight for that time, but some users comment about having a max weight that is used only for one or two sets. Do people normally do their hanging in a fashion where they, say do 20 lbs for their first one or two sets, then if they’ve reached fatigue they reduce from there?

2. My next big confusion is about the definition of a set. When I start hanging, I find that I need to add weight incrementally before I get to a desired “working” weight and I start my time. For instance, I add 2.5 lb weights over the course of 5-10 minutes before I get to 10-12.5 lbs and then start the time for my set. The way some users write, it seems as though they put the hanger on, attach 20lbs or more all at once and they start right there. I don’t see how this is doable for me as the hanger can feel painful at first to add weight to. Do people attach all weight at once and start their sets there or do they work up a few pounds at a time before getting to a “working weight” for a few minutes and start there?